Skip to content

It’s a Whole New War

August 29, 2012

The war for talent has returned, but it’s dramatically changed in the past five years. Employers everywhere see a skills gap between what they need and what candidates have to offer. “Skinny resumes” are the new normal. While there’s no shortage of applicants, candidates in the sweet spot of skills, experience and culture fit are maddeningly scarce. Short-staffed hiring managers cringe thinking about the bidding wars that can erupt over a desirable candidate.

Other than bribing rockstar ninjas with exorbitant salaries, what can you do to attract stellar talent?

According to PayScale’s Gen Y on the Job Report, tech companies are attracting scarce Gen Y tech talent by offering far more than apaycheck. The top five companies chosen by Gen Y – Qualcomm, Google, Medtronic, Intel, and Microsoft, all have been recognized as best places to work.

Tech companies aren’t the only organizations to discover the secret of positive work culture. Healthcare organizations like Dignity Health, Casa Grande Regional Medical Center, and Cancer Treatment Centers of America have given themselves the talent scouting edge by developing strong workplaces, along with large organizations like Charles Schwab.

The evidence for the ROI of company culture has been researched in small and large companies over the past fifteen years by research organizations such as the Great Place to Work Institute. These numbers should impress the most bottom-line focused CFO:
• 95% of leaders in great workplaces saw measurable benefits from being recognized.*
• In terms of stock market returns, Best Companies perform 300% better than the market.*
• Great companies enjoy 50% less than normal turnover.*
• 80% of businesses recognized as top small companies grew revenue share during the recession.**
• 88% of the small top companies added headcount during the recession.**

The evidence is clear. Recognition for workplace culture may have seemed like a competitive advantage in the past, but now it looks to us more like a strategic imperative in the new war for talent. What do you think?

*http://www.greatplacetowork.com/our-approach/what-are-the-benefits-great-workplaces

**http://ventureneer.com/vblog/employee-engagement-key-winning-workplace

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2013 8:43 pm

    We are a group of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your site offered us with helpful information to work on.
    You have done a formidable job and our entire neighborhood will likely be thankful to you.

  2. May 31, 2013 11:32 pm

    I always emailed this webpage post page to all my associates, as
    if like to read it afterward my links will too.

  3. May 31, 2013 11:38 pm

    hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise several technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the website many times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but
    sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your quality score if ads
    and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look
    out for much more of your respective intriguing content.
    Make sure you update this again soon.

  4. June 1, 2013 12:57 am

    Simply desire to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity in your post is simply nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  5. June 6, 2013 4:06 am

    I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome blog!

  6. June 6, 2013 10:20 am

    Quality articles or reviews is the crucial to attract the users to visit the web page, that’s what this website is providing.

  7. June 16, 2013 6:37 am

    Awesome website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any user
    discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get feedback from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Appreciate it!

  8. June 22, 2013 7:53 am

    Hey there. I was considering adding a backlink back to
    your site since both of our web sites are centered around the same subject.
    Would you prefer I link to you using your website address:
    https://bestcompaniesaz.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/its-a-whole-new-war/ or blog title:
    It’s a Whole New War |. Please let me know at your earliest convenience.
    Thanks

  9. July 7, 2013 11:21 pm

    Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m
    going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S Apologies for being
    off-topic but I had to ask!

  10. July 12, 2013 5:33 am

    Hi! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick
    shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover
    the same topics? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

